Wyse Winterm WT9450XE will not startup

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #6487
    Dave119
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Hi to all not sure if I am posting this on wright site. If I am the following is my problem. If not please steer me to the correct place.

    I was given a Wyse Winterm WT9450XE told it was working. I power up and it attempts to start. It flashes from PCI description Listings then to windows XP embedded screen, then blue screen with Isass.exe error code which reads

    “When trying to update a password the return status indicates that the value provided as the current password is not correct”.
    then it reboots and repeats it self over and over. Any suggestions

    I have no discs, manual or any paper work for this unit.
    I opened unit to Identify main board found no info just EPIA REV D

    Please help

    Thank You

    #20168
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11410
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Try pressing SHIFT when the Windows XPe desktop becomes visible. This should prevent the autologin.
    Then try “Administrator” with password “Administrator”.
    If this also errors out, you should reflash the unit with Wyse Simple Image. Tool is on this site, firmware on Wyse.com

    CG

    #20251
    Dave119
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Hey CG, First of all I would like to thank you for responding, I have posted this problem on two other sites and you are the only person who has replied, Thanks again.

    I have tried what you suggested no luck, as far as password, at what screen? I don”t get any password screens. The only place I can enter password is getting into bios and I use “Fireport” and it lets me in.

    Also can you please explain or walk me thru the Reflash? Don’t quite understand “reflash the unit with Wyse Simple Image. Tool is on this site, firmware on Wyse.com . So If you could explain I would greatly appreciate it. Again, Thank You for taking time to reply to my post.

    Sorry for the late response, I had almost forgot about this post, Got tired of checking and getting no replies.

    Dave
    newbie LOL

    #20252
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11410
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Start the unit and wait until you are seeing the XPe desktop.
    Now log of and hold the SHIFT key pressed until you get the Windows login prompt (GINA). Now log in as an admin as described in my previous post.
    If you do not have the chance to get so far because the units shows the BSOD before, you would have to reflash the unit.
    Look in the downloads on this site for a tool called Wyse Simple Imager (WSI). This will help you to reflash the unit with a working XPe.

    Come back you have WSI in place.

    CG

    #20255
    Dave119
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Hi again, I’ve got WSI installed and ready, I hope. I followed the installation guide included with the imaging tool as best I could, but ran into a problem in step 2, “Set up FTP”. The problem is that there is no “Default FTP Site” to right click on and change the properties of. Instead, I changed the properties within the directory itself, “c:intepubftproot”

    I completed all the other steps listed as described.

    Following this I downloaded image #6 (B425) from here.

    I then started up the simple image program and selected my product, 9450, from the list. The actual product name is 9450xe. In looking at the WSI Operation Manual it suggested I use product name 9455 in WSI for terminal 9450. This is something I was hoping you might clarify. Was I correct in choosing 9450 in the select product box for the 9450 machine or should I have chosen 9455 as the manual advised?

    From there I followed instructions 4.1 a-f in the manual. I was unsure of what to put in for version number and flash size so I put in my best guesses which were B425 for the version and 256 for the flash size (taken from the download page of the image). And then, of course, I selected the image file that I had downloaded previously.

    Following this I clicked ok, the image copied successfully, and then I pressed submit as it said in the directions. I restarted the client (since its an endless reboot cycle as it is, I let it continue) and the box for “Log Messages” appeared indicating that it was all ready for imaging.

    In the Wyse Terminal itself in the CMOS under advanced BIOS features I do have LAN selected as the first boot device. I’m unsure of what else to select (if anything) in here.

    When the Wyse Terminal boots I see VIA PCI (10/100) fast ethernet adapter, the mac address, and DHCP… as if it is searching for it, after a few seconds of this it continues on to say something about Exiting Intel PXE ROM and no offers received (I apologize, but the message goes by quickly and its difficult for me to read/follow).

    The terminal is connected via ethernet to the network.

    The directory: C:inetpubftprootrapportWyse9450 appears to have populated with a bunch of things as have the other directories under the ftproot one. Unfortunately, I’m pretty uninformed when it comes to these networking things so I’m not too sure how to proceed from here.

    Thanks again!

    Dave[/url]

    #20275
    H4mmersmith
    Member
    • Total Post: 4
    • Newbie

    Hi,

    Have you tried the usb method? I find with the xpe terminals it’s easier to do all this from a usb thumb drive.

    #20276
    Dave119
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Hi,

    Have you tried the usb method? I find with the xpe terminals it’s easier to do all this from a usb thumb drive.

    Hi, I don’t believe I have tried the USB method. In fact, I’ve never heard of it. Do you have a link or something handy that would act as a guide to follow? On my next day off (which can’t come to soon!) I’ll try and get this puppy working again.

    #20277
    H4mmersmith
    Member
    • Total Post: 4
    • Newbie

    @Dave119 wrote:

    Hi,

    Have you tried the usb method? I find with the xpe terminals it’s easier to do all this from a usb thumb drive.

    Hi, I don’t believe I have tried the USB method. In fact, I’ve never heard of it. Do you have a link or something handy that would act as a guide to follow? On my next day off (which can’t come to soon!) I’ll try and get this puppy working again.

    If you go onto the Wyse website you can download the Wyse USB Imaging tool. It’s very straight foward, Just follow the steps and it creates a bootable usb thumb drive. I find this method to be alot easier when reimaging xpe terminals as doing it via ftp can get a bit fiddily.

    #20454
    spoolin01
    Participant
    • Total Post: 49
    • Back Stage Pass
    • ★★★★

    I see this thread stagnated several weeks ago, but regarding the suggestion to use the USB imaging approach for the 9450 – does it work for that unit? I didn’t think any of the 9000 series except the 9150 (different mobo/BIOS than the 9450/9455) would respond to USB boot devices?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.