Wyse S10 Factory Defaults after Firmware Upgrade/Downgrade

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #761
    Avatartechman
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Hi,

    I’m having problems getting factory defaults to reset consistently after a firmware update/downgrade on Wyse S10s.

    I’m using the following syntax in my wnos.ini, but It seems very hit and miss as to whether it works or not.

    All of my S10s are upgrading to the latest firmware and are on the same BIOS revision, it is driving me mad.

    Any help much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Techman

    #10845
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11009
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Hi techman,

    can you add your wnos.ini?
    BTW, new Confgen version is online which fix your reported issues.

    ConfGen

    #10846
    Avatartechman
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Hi Confgen,

    #This will prevent the user being asked to log in to the local device.
    signon=0

    #Save settings if wnos.ini file off line
    EnableLocal=1

    #Enables admin mode from desktop
    AdminMode=yes Admin-Username=xxxxxxx Admin-Password=xxxxxxxxx

    #This will upgrade to firmware if a newer or older version exists in the ftp directory, and then resets unit to factory defaults
    FactoryDefault=1
    AutoLoad=1

    #Set screen resolution
    Resolution=1024×768 Refresh=75

    #Sets keyboard language to UK
    Language=Uk

    #Set Wyse S10 desktop theme (visible in school only)
    DeskColor=”255 255 255″
    Desktop=desktop.JPG

    #Lockdown the Wyse s10 thin client
    Priviledge=none lockdown=yes

    #Connection Settings

    connect=RDP
    description=”SWSC”
    etc

    Thanks,
    Techman

    #10849
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11009
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Techman,

    never played around with that setting but the wnos.ini looks fine to me (although it’s not made with my tool 👿
    Why do you want to reset it at all?

    ConfGen

    #10850
    Avatartechman
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Hi Confgen,

    I really like your tool, so please don’t take it personally.

    The settings works fine in my approval environment however as soon as I put it out on the shop floor it behaves differently. All of the setting apply fine and firmware updates but the devices don’t factory default automatically.

    I need this to work as the devices have been manually configured in the past and has a result have saved local settings. Admittedly the admin mode feature is still an option, but it means I have to touch each terminal.

    I’ll give you update tool a look over later on.

    Thanks again buddy,
    Techman

    #10857
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi Techman,

    When you have a manually configured device’s and then switch to DHCP with the WNOS.INI all the manually configured conections should be hidden (this is by design).

    I would do this:

    – Introduce the WNOS.INI with the latest firmware to the shop floor but LEAVE OUT the factory reset command

    – Restart all the devices so they have the file and are upgraded, you can use the free WDM software to do this and check firmware versions.

    – Finally enter the FactoryDefault=1 line and reboot all the devices from WDM out of hours. This will clear the connections (not a big issue as users will not be able to see them anyway)

    – Remove the FactoryDefault=1 when this is done or you will get inconsistant results on boot

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #10861
    Avatartechman
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Hi ThinkThin,

    Thanks for your input. I think you solution is ideal. I’ll do just that, as this will work perfectly, ultimately once they have all had one reset they will be controlled by the wnos.ini anyway. The problem was that although users can’t see the manually configured connections if they were set to autoconnect they will try to do just that, which causes confusion (especially if set to retry!).

    I have actually written up in a technical article for my guys to do a manual factory reset from the admin mode, if any strange behaviour is noted, so one way or another we will get there.

    Thanks again,
    Techman

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.