Wyse 1200LE have to reboot each time there is a log off

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #980
    Avatarrobjamell
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    I bought a WT1200LE to access my XP pro computer through RDP.

    It works well except that when I am at the thin client and I log off, the next time it will not login without the thin client be restarted first.

    Thanks

    #11908
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Strange – what firmware version is it on? Have a look at the general tab for the system version,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11910
    Avatarrobjamell
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    firmware is 4.4.010i

    I tried to do a firmware update in case it would help, but I am having problem after problem.

    I was hoping there was another solution since diagnosing the firmware update problem may be even more difficult although I would like to update the firmware too.

    #11913
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Eek! That’s old, we need to get you on newer firmware!

    What was the firmware update issue, maybe this relates to the other problem. Can you provide greater details on your environment and issues?

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11926
    Avatarrobjamell
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Thanks so much!

    I will provide all of the details I can.

    I am running windows XP pro. I have the termsvc “hack” that allows for concurrent sessions. I have been using it no problem for years.

    I bought the thin client to free up a “always sitting there” laptop.

    It works well except the above mentioned problem and the firmware updating.

    My brother is more computer savvy than I and helped me a bit. He put the files on my XP pro as a ftp server.

    He renamed the firmware to btc -something after seeing that was what the thin client was looking for.

    When I reboot the thin client, it takes a while and then the event log says, “Cannot access system profile” BUT if I turn off windows firewall it reboots instantly but then says “Checking software ftp:/wnos/UTC_wnos…” and the next line says “Checking firmware ftp:/wnos/UTC_b512”

    My brother has tried different directories, etc.

    Thanks again.
    Rob

    #11931
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi,

    Check out this doc:

    http://www.freewysemonkeys.com/site/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownloaddetails&lid=95&ttitle=How_to_Upgrade_firmware_of_WTOS_.pdf

    It has the correct paths to enter, it sounds like you are almost there! Now the file you need to add is the UTC_512 file, you can not rename other files for this.

    Post back if you are still stuck!

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11933
    Avatarrobjamell
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Thanks, but this is the document I used.

    I cannot find a btc firmware. All I could find was firmware listed for the wt1200le that was a higher number, but the file was not called btc, so I renamed it.

    Can you point me to an update btc file?

    Thanks
    Rob

    #11934
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi,

    I PM’ed you the file and the correct name is UTC_512 for the 1200LE, let me know how it goes,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11970
    Avatarrobjamell
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Worked Great! My “re-login” problem is solved.

    Thanks a ton. I was traveling and couldn’t wait to get back to try it and it worked like a charm.

    Do you know what all enhancements I get with this firmware?

    Thanks a ton!

    What a great resource!

    Rob

    #11972
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Great news! The main feature for you is some small fixes in RDP with Office and also you can map USB flash disks into the RDP session as long as they are formatted in FAT or FAT32.

    Thanks for supporting the site!

    Cheers,
    -TT

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.