WT3360SE questions

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #847
    Avatarmadmax_2069
    Member
    • Total Post: 3
    • Newbie

    Hello All, i just bought a wyse winterm 3360SE 16/32 model. its runninf Windoes CE 2.12

    i want to update to the firmware on wyse’s site but i dont know what that update comes with (additions).

    right now it has a bit of software on it now, i dont know if that software was the default config (what it came with from the factory) but it only has 4mb storage left

    i am posting this with the winterm (using a wavelen PCMCIA card), it does have issues with it for some reason, like its connecting fine with it now, but when i reboot it will not get the IP from the router, but after a wile of sitting there it will just start working. i dont know if this is a driver issue or the fact there is no way to disable the onboard ethernet when you want to use wifi to connect with.

    the firmware upgrade is 13mb in size and that wont leave me with allot of storage space for add-ons (like IE or another big add-on) cause IE is 6mb big and there is not enough room on the onboard storage.

    does the firmware update for the 16/32 3360SE model contain IE and a few other addons or is this update for the OS alone and you have to have extra storage to add IE.

    also is there a way to get a larger then 32mb flash card (to install addons to) instead of using the onboard flash upgrade connector.

    another question is, is the 3360 limited to a Max of 64mb ram or can it address more then 64mb, and if it can what type of so-dimm’s does it use ( so i can try to buy a larger then 64mb so-dimm)

    (EDIT)

    just did some searching (google love) and ran across this

    http://www.memoryx.net/92019703.html

    a 64mb PC100 so-dimm for the winterm 1200LE, 3360SE, 3730LE, 8230LE, 8360SE for $13. allot better then the $60+ wyse is asking for.

    so far i haven’t found any more info about if its ECC or non ECC, buffered or registered or unregistered, or if its even able to see over 64mb

    (EDIT)

    also another question, i have seen sites say its incapable of taking CF cards (cause of the controller in them) is there a way to use another type of flash card on the flash upgrade slot with a adapter to convert it to CF style of connector.

    another thing, i know you can use FTP to perform the firmware update, but how do you install the add-ons, do you use the FTP way or what. but i am not sure on how to do any of it

    i do want to use s USB thumbdrive for storage but i dont know if you can use it to store the add-ons with. it seems i need to upgrade from CE 2.12 before i can do this. but i dont want to loose half of my ability’s that i have now.

    is there anyway to run 3rd party programs on this, like use a source code to make it x86 compatible. i seen a few programs for CE but no versions for a x86 CPU running CE.

    i am also thinking on buying a newer (but older) model that runs XPe, any suggestions

    this is a nice little machine

    sorry for the questions, and for the confusion in my post. but i am noob at thin computing.

    Thanks
    Frank

    …EDIT….

    i know there is no java for CE devices, i wonder if this could be (sort of) a replacement for it

    http://www.wabasoft.com/ and (links to pages of different waba ports) http://www.wabasoft.com/vms.shtml

    or

    http://www.superwaba.com.br/en/default.asp

    i also have a newton MP 2100, its browsers also lack java and flash but that is expected, i installed waba on it and it at least added some useful ability to it. this only has a strongarm 110 CPU running at 162mhz with 4mb flash and 4mb ram which would make it a bit more limited then what these are (but it does have a full functioning OS).

    Waba is probably not compatible with java (but java will run waba) but will add a bit more function to IE ( if someone was to port it to the x86 CE platform) if its possible to do on these machines.

    there is a few different waba VM builds for different platforms some more advanced then others (ported to a gameboy for crying out loud).

    again sorry for the overly long winded post, this is probably a bit to much for one post

    #11316
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11009
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Hi,

    these addons are in the 441.22 build for 3360:

    ICA
    RDP
    TEC Standard
    IE4
    JetCet
    Microtouch
    ELO touch
    Screen Saver
    RAS Dial Up
    USB Modem

    Cheers
    CG

    #11321
    Avatarmadmax_2069
    Member
    • Total Post: 3
    • Newbie

    sweet thanks, that means i would only need a few extra addons to make it the same as what i have now

    the remaining questions still to be answered.

    1. Is there a way to use a larger then 32mb flash card using the upgrade slot

    2. Tied with the above question, is there a CF card that will work in this slot (i seen the upgrades on wyse’s site, $30 is a bit much)

    3. Can a USB thumb-drive be used to hold added programs on, and how big can the unit see

    4. Anyway to run 3rd party programs on this thing (if they are windows CE x86 compatible) or complied from source

    5. Is it possable to install and use Waba

    6. I am not quite catching on on how to update the firmware, i know by FTP but i don’t have access to a proper FTP server (run a Mac with OS X) but what software is capable of doing what i need

    7. do you install the addons by the FTP method as well.

    #11325
    Avatarmadmax_2069
    Member
    • Total Post: 3
    • Newbie

    i just did the update, the only thing the 16/32mb version update i see is lacking is IE, but everything else you listed is there.

    IE is more likely the only difference between the 16/32 and the 32/64 updates.

    looks like i have to get the flash upgrade (and memory upgrade from memoryx)

    i do like this allot better cause you can at-least switch to GUI that looks like a OS.

    the only thing i am left with now is asking about USB drives, is there a limit on the size it can use on one, and can the USB drive be used to store add-ons. and finally can it run 3rd party app’s either compiled for CE x86 or something that has already been built.

    and how do you install programs on this, if its done by FTP or USB drive or other

    sorry for my rudeness ( i forgot to thank you in my last post) thanks allot ConfGen for your info

    Thanks
    Frank

    #11328
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11009
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Hi Frank,

    there is no way to
    – use a USB key a storage
    – get a CF card to expand local flash or replace
    – run other application on the device

    Sorry for the bad news.

    CG

    #11495
    AvatarLijah
    Member
    • Total Post: 2
    • Newbie

    Hi

    I’m playing with 2 Compaq T1010 ( = Wyse 3360 ). I expand the flash memory and upgrade to WinCe 4.2 firmware with IE

    There is a way to expand local flash

    I buy “Wyse CF” card to expand flash memory on EBay , and it’s work fine.
    But it’s not easy to find. In reality , it’s not a standard CF card but 2 flash eeprom in a CF connector.
    Also , i found a website that describe how to make your own memory expension from flash eeprom.

    There is a way to run other application on the device

    I’m working on it. You can create you own Add on and upload to the terminal.
    It’s not simple , you must create a “Wyse Add on package”. I made a windows tools for that (based on tools that already exist for Linux)

    My goal , is to run at startup an add-on that connect a networkdrive or webpage or local storage that contains the programs to run.
    Also , by this way i will remove not used add-on from firmware.

    There is a way to use USB storage

    Addon_MS-Storage_B0009_B from Wyse download website, contain the driver for USB Mass Storage.
    (Not tested)

    madmax_2069 Do you have tested the RAM expension ?

    #11499
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11009
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Hi Lijah,

    There is a way to expand local flash

    you are right. There were flash cards from Wyse but these are no longer sold and extremly hard to find. That’s why I wrote “not possible”.

    There is a way to run other application on the device

    If you manage this, tell us all how to do it

    There is a way to use USB storage

    Of course you can use USB Mass storage device but not for additional addons. Only for personal files you want to use inside your sessions.

    CG

    #11500
    AvatarLijah
    Member
    • Total Post: 2
    • Newbie

    I agree with you CG

    3360 is a very old terminal.
    Even you add many extension you’ll never have the functionalities of a little PC.

    I use this terminal for home automation like a micro-controller board. Used 3360 terminal are cheapest than any Micro-controller board with network support.
    For my own use : Screen , mouse , keyboard , USB are new open possibilities for my device.

    #12904
    Avatarnelium
    Member
    • Total Post: 1
    • Newbie

    4 boxes.

    I used the info from the gaast website and have set mine to boot from a USB stick and is running Linux/DSL.

    http://winterm.gaast.net/main.php/intro.html

    I’ve added the internal memory, but I’m looking now for a way to boot from a PXE server.

    Just trying to learn.

    latre.

    #15660
    Avatarpoliveira1978
    Member
    • Total Post: 2
    • Newbie

    Hi all…. Sorry for ressurecting this old post, but can someone post the DSL image that existed in http://winterm.gaast.net ? it seems the file is missing. I would very much appreciate the posting of this file.

    Thanks in advance,

    Pedro

    #15661
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11009
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Have you tried to contact the guys from that website?

    CG

    #15663
    Avatarpoliveira1978
    Member
    • Total Post: 2
    • Newbie

    I just though it would be easier if someone had the files around. I’ll try to get in touch with them, thanks anyway.

    Pedro Oliveira
    _____
    There’s no place like 127.0.0.1

    #18287
    Avatarspamfree
    Member
    • Total Post: 1
    • Newbie

    Sorry to bring this back from the graveyard but does anyone have the DSL images ? I have a T1010 and can’t seem to find any help on getting Linux on it. BTW, I contacted the authors of the website and they could not help 🙁

    Thanks

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.