wnos.ini vs default.ini vs username.ini

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #6320
    WyseMan3033
    Member
    • Total Post: 15
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Hello Everyone,

    Can someone explain to me the role of the 3 ini files used by wyse? I have an S10 and i’ve been messing around with the 3 and having a little trouble.

    The way I understand it right now is:

    wnos.ini – is where you would put “machine” configuration settings
    default.ini – is where you set master settings for all users
    username.ini – is where you set settings per username if needed

    My problem is that I’m not really sure where it is best to put each command. I also don’t know what ini trumps the others if a setting is configured in 2 places. My wnos.ini is below:

    ;*************************************************************
    ;* General 1 *
    ;*************************************************************

    autoload=1
    SignOn=Yes DefaultINI=default_settings.ini
    DomainList=CCC
    TimeZone=”GMT – 05:00″ daylight=yes start=030207 end=110107 TimeZoneName=”Eastern Standard Time”

    ;*************************************************************
    ;* USB *
    ;*************************************************************

    SessionConfig=ALL mapdisks=yes

    ;*************************************************************
    ;* VNC *
    ;*************************************************************

    MaxVNCD=1
    VncPassword=”wysevnc”
    VncPrompt=No

    ;*************************************************************
    ;* Screen Settings *
    ;*************************************************************

    Desktop=colorbackground_1024x768.jpg Layout=stretch
    Resolution=DDC
    DesktopColorDepth=32
    ScreenSaver=15 LockTerminal=0 Type=1

    ;*************************************************************
    ;* ICA *
    ;*************************************************************

    PnliteServer=citrix:8080 AutoConnectList=”Wyse Desktop”

    My main concerns in my config are that I would like to set different display settings for different users. I would also like to set different auto connect options for different users.

    For a custom resolution or background, for 1 user, in addition to the username.ini file, where should the default settings be set? Same question for the autoconnect option.

    Please let me know if you have any info. The wyse ini guide briefly says that “Global overrides identically-named user profile”, but I don’t know what “global” means. Are they referring to the wnos.ini or the default.ini?

    #19712
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11409
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Check the WTOS – INI File Handling document in the Product section first. Then lets discuss more details.
    BTW, global means wnos.ini 😉

    CG

    #19714
    WyseMan3033
    Member
    • Total Post: 15
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Thanks. I had come across that guide previously though and still need a little more clarification.

    Here’s an example: let’s say I want all of my users to have a resolution set to “DDC” except for a few that might want to use a lower resolution to make their screen appear larger.

    Should “DDC” be in the wnos.ini and the username.ini or should it be in the deafult.ini and username.ini? Or is it mainly just preference as to when you want the setting to apply in the log on process?

    Also if i am defining a different resolution for that one user do I only list the item i want to change in the username.ini? Or do i need the other parameters that relate to it? (meaning if i set a different resolution in the username.ini do i also need to make sure i put the color depth in there as well.. or will it pull that setting from the default.ini?

    #19715
    aLiE
    Participant
    • Total Post: 320
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    My advise would using predefined ini files based on mac address if you want to define resolutions for some specific users.
    Say the device starts at 1280×1024 but the user needs 1024×768 changing the resolution requires a reboot but after the reboot the device goes back to default setting which is 1280x 1024 > user logins > reboot is required and now we have a endless loop.

    But you can also publish applications/desktop (Citrix/Vmware etc.) with predefined resolution, but reading your post you are talking about the desktop itself. Correct me if i’m wrong.

    But this is just my advise as i know i can be wrong here.

    #19716
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11409
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Either follow aLiEs advice (which is completely right) or use

    Privilege=None ShowDisplaySettings=DDC-Only
    in your global wnos.ini and no Resolution parameter at all.
    As Resolution=DDC is the default and therefore you do not have to set it, you are allowing each user to change the resolution as they would like to have it.

    CG

    #20607
    MO_Virtual
    Member
    • Total Post: 4
    • Newbie

    Here is what I have in the wlx.ini file for the resolution settings…

    DisplaySettings=MON1 rotate-normal DDC ; MON2 rotate-normal DDC on-right

    I also have a MAC.ini file that has only the following in it for the resolution…

    ShowDisplaySettings=DDC-Only
    Resolution=DDC

    I did this so that the user could change their resolution to their preference. What is happening though is after the resolution is set on the client and it is rebooted it is set back to the default monitor resolution and the resolution setting that was set on the client is gone. Can you please tell me what I am doing wrong in the MAC.ini? I basically want a global.ini with DDC as the resolution and a MAC.ini for users that want to set the resolution manually if they don’t like the resolution that is set globally. Thank you!!

    #20609
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11409
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    One question. You are talking about a wlx.ini which is used for Linux and not WTOS (wnos.ini).
    Which device are you using?
    Second, if you are using DDC, there is no need to specify this in the global ini, as this is the default. Remove it.

    CG

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.