wes on c90le7

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #7317
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Is there a way to push a Wes image onto a c90le7? I’ve looked at the specs and they look identical to the c90 that comes with windows embedded standard. I just have a ton of these units and have a few that need xp.

    Using wdm right now.

    #22217
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11485
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Yes, this is possible. From a licensing standpoint you are legal to sowngrade a WES7 unit to a WES2009 one.
    All you need is an adapted .rsp file as Wyse is preventing the downgrade.

    CG

    #22234
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    I saw in another topic someone tried the same thing and recieved an error about the hardware key in the unit… any thoughts on this or should I burn that bridge when I get to it.

    #22239
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11485
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    All you need is an adapted .rsp file as Wyse is preventing the downgrade

    That’s why I posted this 😉
    Otherwise you will get the security key error.

    CG

    #22245
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    I just changed the OS in the .rsp file from WES to WES7… is that all that is needed?

    #22250
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11485
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    No, there is more to change.
    Post your rsp file.

    CG

    #22278
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    [VERSION]
    Number=push_ACA0_S684_2048
    Description=ACA0 Build 684 EFGS push script
    OS=WES
    Category=Images
    USE_PXE=YES
    command=%imagewrite%
    BootFloppy=pxelinux
    ImageType=Merlin
    USE_REMOTE=YES
    ImageSize=2048
    ImageVersion=8.010684.2048

    =ACA0,

    1.4.4mbr.img51201010A1CFFFFFFFF01010A1CFFFFFFFF00initrd.pxe725956801010A1CFFFFFFFF01010A1CFFFFFFFF001vmlinuz204064001010A1CFFFFFFFF01010A1CFFFFFFFF001par1.img202774118401010A1CFFFFFFFF01010A1CFFFFFFFF002bios.img104857601010A1CFFFFFFFF01010A1CFFFFFFFFcmos.img51201010A1CFFFFFFFF01010A1CFFFFFFFF

    [Script]
    QU “3” “120”
    RB

    #22280
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11485
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Check PM

    CG

    #22281
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    I sent you a PM back but your script gets written fine, had to tell it that it was a WES7 OS… then when I get to the term it says push “Y” to push image and when I do it instantly says success and then it exits.. nothing gets pushed.

    #22304
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    So i’ve tried every which way to do this and here is the best I have it:

    If I change the OS type to WES7 and I also copy the security section a WES7 rsp into the WES rsp I can get the WES image to push just fine however once it reboots it goes to a screen saying Wyse OS not found.

    If I attempt to push the RSP file you created for me it never flashes, it instantly says success.

    Any thoughts?

    Thank you so much!

    #22316
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11485
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Did you push it via PXE or Non-PXE?
    Try PXE.

    CG

    #22336
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Hi There,

    When I attempt to register the package in WDM it complains about an invalid XML file.

    #22341
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11485
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Have you modified it?

    CG

    #22344
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Negative.

    I have since been playing with it and adding in the security stuff but doesnt seem to have an effect on it.

    #22346
    jeremywatco
    Member
    • Total Post: 20
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    XML error resolved.. a few unclosed tags in the rsp you sent. But..

    I pushed out via PXE and after it was done imaging it reboots and says “OS Not found”

    WDM has an error for the update saying that there wasnt enough space on the drive….

    4GB Flash in my C90LE7.

    Also, when the OS is set to ALL in the .rsp file WDM doenst list it as an option for the C90LE7 for distribution.. I have to set it to WES7.

    USB Imaging seems to get further than any of the other methods however it still does one of two things. Either it says success instantly and exits or it goes all the way, says success after a while then reboots and says Wyse 2.3 Missing Operating System.

    Sorry if I am being a pain, I do appreciate all that you do!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.