V90 basics

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #983
    AvatarHandyMan
    Member
    • Total Post: 15
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    I’m missing the basic knowledge of how V90 devices work and am getting confused reading through the docs, so wondered if someone might give me a helping hand.
    If I have one Windows 2003 server on a single network and several V90 Wyse units connected, which have embedded XP, what other things need to take place to get the unit running? I understand Terminal Services, that’s not the problem, but I read about transferring images and pushing software updates. Doesn’t the ’embedded’ part eliminate all that ?
    Sorry to be such a hopeless newbie.

    #11928
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi Handyman,

    XPe is really cut down XP Pro and does allow a lot of customisation if you want to. Have a look in the XPe downloads section of this site for the “evaluation” guide which covers the setup basics,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11951
    AvatarHandyMan
    Member
    • Total Post: 15
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Thanks. That’s got me a little bit further.

    #11953
    AvatarHandyMan
    Member
    • Total Post: 15
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Is there a document anywhere, or can someone explain the requirements to me simply, of the boot process of a V90 device with XPe – after switching it on, what are the necessary actions that take place to get it fully functional? It’s this very basic stuff that the documents are not clear on (for me, anyway).
    Thank you.

    #11958
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi Handyman,

    Here is an example of setting up a V90 for terminal server:

    – Login to the terminal as Administrator and disable the write filter
    – Open the C:Documents and SettingsUserDesktop and the C:Documents and SettingsAll UsersDesktop and remove any icons you do not want.
    – Create a new shortcut to your terminal server and save this .RDP file to the User desktop
    – Enable the write filter

    Now this is a simple example, you should get a icon on the desktop that a user launches and takes them to a terminal server. Once you have this image use WDM to “pull” the image and then “push” it to the other devices in the network.

    Because the device is XPe is can be configured just like normal XP Pro on a PC. Now if you need a simple device that’s where the Wyse S10 comes in however it sounds like you already have the units in place.

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11968
    AvatarHandyMan
    Member
    • Total Post: 15
    • Regular Joe
    • ★★

    Can the image be transferred without WDM?
    Let’s say a V90 is delivered to a remote location with factory defaults and after a user (non-technical) connects it to the network, can the modified image be transferred from a local server (using scripts for example)?

    #11981
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11009
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Hi,

    there are 3 ways to get your image on these clients. In all cases you have to extract the image from a preconfigured unit first with WDM.
    – use WDM and its feature called DDC (Default Device Configuration). This will push an image to an unit if it comes up the first time and does not have the correct (your) image installed
    – use WSI (Wyse Simple Image). But this is nothing for remote use. Only lab enviroment – never production
    – use USB imaging. There a thread here in the WDM section about this great tool.

    Regards
    CG

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.