USB Imaging 1.4 Released!

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 62 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #951
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi Everyone,

    I have released the new Wyse USB Imaging Creator here:

    http://www.freewysemonkeys.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownloaddetails&lid=62&ttitle=Wyse_USB_Imaging_Creator

    Now this is out I have closed of the old beta thread and new comments/suggestions can be posted in this thread.

    Thanks for your support!

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11784
    AvatarIanA
    Member
    • Total Post: 4
    • Newbie

    I just formatted a 4gig peakIII stick and stuck 1.4 on it. Booted up perfectly on an S50 I had lying about.

    I will have a go with some imaging later.

    Nice work, any luck with that USB2.0 dos stack?

    *edit*
    Oh, and i also noticed a small bug. If you leave a device sat on the menu screen for a while, something like 10 mins i find the screen starts to go nuts!!

    Re-boot, then its fine again 🙂

    #11785
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Thanks for testing Ian!

    I have seen this, sometimes if you hit the space bar the screen clears. The DOS menu system I used is very old!

    Let me know how the testing goes, I did not find a solution to USB 2 unfortunately. This will have to happen as there are too many bad loads with large XPe files and the time it takes. Maybe next release if I continue with this,

    Cheers,
    David

    #11797
    Avatarelenor
    Member
    • Total Post: 4
    • Newbie

    Very nice tool, thanks!

    Just to help others, I tried it with 3 different usb sticks, and 1 didn’t work.

    Verbatim and Kingston Datatraveler worked.

    Sandisk Cruzer micro 4gb didn’t work, i just get a black screen with a cursor in the left corner.

    Unfortunately my verbatim and Kingston are 128mb and 256mb! Will try to find a larger kingston stick and re-test.

    Thanks!

    #11801
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Great info!

    Can you tell me what device you tested on and what BIOS version it had? Hit the TAB key during the yellow Wyse splash screen and you will see the BIOS version in the top left corner,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11804
    Avatarelenor
    Member
    • Total Post: 4
    • Newbie

    @thinkthin wrote:

    Great info!

    Can you tell me what device you tested on and what BIOS version it had? Hit the TAB key during the yellow Wyse splash screen and you will see the BIOS version in the top left corner,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    Sure thing, it’s a V90L
    Model = VT6048
    BIOS = 1.12

    Think upgrading the BIOS could help with the Cruzer usb key ?

    #11805
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi Elenor,

    In this case I don’t believe so, there is a newer BIOS in the latest V90L image so you could push this out with WDM and see if it helps. It is interesting to keep track off what works and what does not for future reference. Thanks for posting the update!

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11902
    Avatarmikev
    Member
    • Total Post: 157
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    hi guys,

    i have got 2 models – 9150 and S90. i tried USB imaging v1.4 and it works great with 9150 – no issues. but when i try to image S90 it does 100% but after imaging when the unit reboots it comes up with a blue screen and the error message –

    “Fatal System Error. The windows subsystem system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of ….. The system has been shut down.”

    any idea – pls help.

    thanks.

    #11905
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi Mike,

    I have seen this issue where you image it and some of the image is corrupt. I am not sure of the cause yet but just image it again and it should work,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #11907
    Avatarmikev
    Member
    • Total Post: 157
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi TT,

    I did try a couple of times but same result – blue screen. For testing i tried another S90 image and result the same.

    The same images works when i push it from Rapport.

    Also, since all my S90 models part number ends with “L” so i am using S92 from the list when i boot from USB. Not sure why it is not working.

    Thanks.

    #11916
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hmm, looks like there is an issue to fix with the imager…

    #12032
    AvatarBleeuwen
    Member
    • Total Post: 29
    • Frequent Flyer
    • ★★★

    I’ve also tried Sandisk Cruzer micro 4gb. I can’t get it to boot.

    With a different stick i can boot but i cant load the image to the 9150 unit.

    Whenever i start the DL command i get the error: Not enough memory

    First i thought this was because i used a stick which has to little space on it, but when i changed it to start the files from the network (booted with usb with network support, this also will speed up the imaging transfer -usb 1 speed problem-), it has the same problem.

    Is there an other way to transfer the image, or is DL command the only way? Can i use an other option to image the device. This device is an 9150SE with a 256 MB Flash in it.

    #12035
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi,

    Sounds like a DOS 640K memory limit. I tested with a 256/256MB 9150 and it works OK. Are you loading any extra programs or drivers? (the network stack will do this).

    Try entering the DOSHIGH or LOADHIGH commands and lower the DOS lower memory limit,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #12040
    AvatarBleeuwen
    Member
    • Total Post: 29
    • Frequent Flyer
    • ★★★

    You are correct it is a dos limit. I already loaded everything high, i will look if i can get more mem to the environment (ripping some other stuff).

    #12049
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    OK, its weird you get a memory error as no one else has reported this on the standard download. Let me know if you nut it out,

    Cheers,
    -TT

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 62 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.