Trouble using Wyse Simple Imager

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #259
    Avatarrj
    Member
    • Total Post: 11
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    Some of our S50 have crashed and will not start up. Two of them during download of image from ftp and one because of my experimentation.

    The first two start up, finishes the pxe process and displays the message “No boot device present. Halting”.

    The one I have been experimenting with (possibly an illegal downgrade πŸ™„ ) says: “/bin/sh: can’t access tty; job control turned off” after displaying a lot of code first.

    I have tried to use WSI to reimage the terminals. But I get a message that I’m not using the correct firmware. I have downloaded all availible firmware files from Wyse.com and I get the same message on all of them.

    Any suggestions? ❓

    #9007
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

    Hi,

    Hey, whats the fun if you can’t have a hack at the OS? (Just ask the regular hackers of this site πŸ™‚

    So on the image and device is a set of security keys that stop you pushing the wrong image to the wrong device. With Simple imager/Rapport the .i2d file has the BIOS in it so if you could push the wrong firmware to the wrong hardware you would end up with a nice door stop (if you have 2 bookends?)

    This would require the BIOS to be re-programed at a service center.

    Now yours ain’t that messed up, the BIOS is there but the OS is missing/busted and you have screwed the security keys up. Apart from the service center option format a USB key and ghost the drive from a working terminal and ghost it to the busted one. After this simple imager should work again.

    Good Luck!

    -TT

    #9079
    Avatarrj
    Member
    • Total Post: 11
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    We have tried to boot from an USB stick and used ghost to take an image of the disk of a this works fine. But when we try to use this image on another s50 the process stops at 50% with the message: “Unable to find 12 free blocks in ext2 filesystem”. The complete ghosterr.txt file are below.

    The s50’s that we have tried this on have been corrupted because of upgrading from 6.2.x to 6.3.x without using the upgrade pak. And therfore have the “No boot device present. Halting” message or just have a yellow light on the power button and refuses to be turned on.

    You mention that apart from this method the servicecenter can fix it… how do they do it? ❓

    – rj


    *********************************
    Date : Fri May 5 01:28:44 2006
    Error Number: (31007)
    Message: Unable to find 12 free blocks in ext2 filesystem
    Version: 7.50 (Dec 1 2001, Build=335)
    Command line arguments: /fni
    Active Switches :
    No Switches specified in options panel or ghost.ini
    ProgMode : PROG_LOCAL
    PathName :
    DumpFile : C:wyse_S50.GHO
    DumpPos : 56610984
    File64 buffersize : 32768
    FlagImplode : 0
    FlagExplode : 0

    Mouse IRQ Status : Not in IRQ(0)
    Program Call Stack
    main
    sub_main
    AttemptOperation
    CopyMainline
    CopyFileToDisk
    CopyAllPartitions
    ProcessAllPartitions
    CopyPartition
    ProcessLinuxPartition
    CopyLinuxPartition
    RestoreExt2FileSystem
    RestoreExt2Node
    RestoreExt2File
    Generic_Abort

    Call frame traceback EIPs:
    0x00185348
    0x0002c8b0
    0x0002bff0
    0x0002babe
    0x0002d059
    0x000b3c78
    0x000b75d3
    0x000b7b73
    0x000b7f5f
    0x000b829e
    0x000b8b69
    0x00072628
    0x00071d19
    0x00071b79
    0x00070e31
    0x00002215
    0x000024f5
    0x00004765
    0x00003979
    0x001be152


    Start heap available: 120193024
    Cur heap available: 64290816
    Total Memory: 123404288

    Conventional Memory
    Allocated
    33504 ghost.cpp:784
    32768 file64.cpp:276
    Free
    1024 DpmiDjgpp.cpp:49
    1024 DpmiDjgpp.cpp:49
    1024 DpmiDjgpp.cpp:49
    32768 DiskDriveAccessInt13.cpp:142

    Fat details:

    NTFS details:

    NTFS Global Flags:
    contiguousWrite=1 forceDiskClusterMapping=0
    inhibitCHKDSK=1 ignoreBadLog=0 ignoreCHKDSKBit=0
    enable_cache=0 xfrbuflen=0
    last_attr_type = 0

    Disk Info :
    remote.............0
    drive..............81
    sectors_used.......124896
    estimated_used.....105765
    pemax..............3
    Version............750

    # Ord Boot Id Ext First Num Last Used NTFS
    0 0 80 83 No 00000032 00010208 00010240 00006638 No
    1 1 0 83 No 00010240 00110464 00120704 00099084 No
    2 2 0 83 No 00120704 00004224 00124928 00000042 No

    Disk Info :
    remote.............0
    drive..............81
    sectors_used.......121472
    estimated_used.....0
    pemax..............3
    Version............0

    # Ord Boot Id Ext First Num Last Used NTFS
    0 0 80 83 No 00000032 00008288 00008320 00006638 No
    1 1 0 83 No 00008320 00109056 00117376 00099084 No
    2 2 0 83 No 00117376 00004096 00121472 00000042 No

    Drive 128

    Int 13h (Active)
    Total Sectors 514080
    Bytes per Sector 512
    MB 251
    Cylinders 32
    Heads 255
    Sectors per Track 63

    Extended Int 13h
    Total Sectors 503807
    Bytes per Sector 512
    MB 245

    Drive 129

    Int 13h (Active)
    Total Sectors 125056
    Bytes per Sector 512
    MB 61
    Cylinders 977
    Heads 4
    Sectors per Track 32

    Extended Int 13h
    Total Sectors 125056
    Bytes per Sector 512
    MB 61

    Remote Drives
    AsyncIo : 1
    *********************************
    #9082
    Avatarthinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1707
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

    Looks like its the serive center for you πŸ™

    The service center load the software right the the IDE flash and if the BIOS has a problem they put it in EPROM burner and re-program it.

    WDM/WSI have a system that checks security keys to stop you loading the wrong firmware and the service center direct load gets around this.

    Thats Wierd with the ghost going wrong – is should direct load the OS to the flash. Its like the boot sectoer info is messed up. Maybe do some research on this? You could do a sector by sector ghost copy and see if that works? You would need a working terminal with the same size flash.

    -TT

    #9110
    Avatarrj
    Member
    • Total Post: 11
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    We have done some more testing.

    I found a guide here on this site that explained that you should only make image of the second partition. So that’s probably why the first tests failed.
    Now we tried that and both the making of the image and the return of image on a crashed s50 works fine. But the terminal still gets the same message. “No boot device present. Halting”. Why is that?

    We also tried (just for the fun of it) to take one S50 out of the box, never used, boot from USB first time and take an image of all three partitions.
    Because we wondered if there could be some issues using image from one unit on another unit, we decided to try to put back the same image on the very same unit. It failed during the ghost process πŸ˜₯ Not with the same error as last. Now it says “Unable to find 32 free blocks in …”

    Are there any reasonable explanation for this? Are there no way to capture an image of an entire unit?

    – rj

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.