Rapport 4.4.1 Install

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #122
    Anonymous
    Member
    • Total Post: 162
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Has anyone had issues with installing Rapport 4.4.1 on Windows Server 2003 SP1. I have not been able to install it on two boxes. One a domain member and one a stand alone “workstation.” IIS is installed, SNMP is enabled, and FTP is enabled. Please help.

    #8633
    thinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Hi Joe,

    There are 2 important hotfixes to be applied before installing on W2K3 SP1, have a look at this build doc:

    http://www.freewysemonkeys.com/site/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownloaddetails&lid=23&ttitle=Rapport_Build_Document_Tempates

    You will need to send an email to Wyse support to get the hotfixes mentioned in the doc. A new version of Rapport will be out soon that has these fixes in built I hear,

    Cheers,
    -TT

    #8635
    Anonymous
    Member
    • Total Post: 162
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Well the install finally worked yesterday. Lots of tinkering and a completely different setup than the test environment that took 7 hours to finish. I am still getting the “standard service” not running error even after applying the hotfix designed to resolve it. Any ideas would be appreciated.

    #8636
    thinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Wow, 7 hours!

    A few questions:

    Did you apply the 2 Pre installation hotfixes?
    Is it a clean IIS installation, by this I mean is anyting else using IIS even if its a different port?
    What was the post install hotfix, HF04041032905?

    Let me know and I will see what we can do.

    -TT

    #8643
    Anonymous
    Member
    • Total Post: 162
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    I’ve got a few issues with installing 4.4.1 on a Server 2003 SP1 machine too. It seems to make it through the intial setup stages, but dies on the FTP Testing – there doesn’t seem to be any clues in Filemon as to what it tries to do unfortunately.

    I’ve given ‘Everyone’ full control over the ftproot folder and applied the MS Hotfix mentioned in the article from above (COM 1.5 Rollup).

    Here’s a bit from the WyseInstall.log file that shows it bombing out during install:

    19:42:14|featureevents.rul|61| Repository_Installed Begin
    19:42:20|Globals.rul|172| CustomFTPDialog(): Unable to connect: FTP Error:10061
    19:42:29|featureevents.rul|85| TestFTPConnection failed. Exiting install
    19:42:29|Setup.Rul|655| OnAbort()::Enter

    Any ideas what to try next?

    #8644
    thinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    This could be caused by the inability of the Rapport parser module to get the right FTP port in the services located at c:windowssystem32driversetcservices. Open up the services file in this location from notepad and find (ctrl – f) the line

    ftp 21/tcp #FTP. control

    Cut and past this line to the end of the services file with a few blank lines before it, save the file and try the installation again.

    If it works don’t forget to set the local user account “rapport” with a password that never expires,

    Cheers,

    -TT

    #8645
    Anonymous
    Member
    • Total Post: 162
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    TT – Brilliant work yet again 🙂

    Silly me, when trying it last night I even opened the services file and thought that maybe it isn’t parsing it right but ignored it (as I didn’t think it would be that picky).

    That’ll teach me for doing Rapport installs on no sleep.

    Cheers 😀

    #8646
    thinkthin
    Member
    • Total Post: 1686
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Cool, glad it worked!!!

    Personaly I wish the installation would skip the whole ftp test and just pop up a warning the the ftp server needs configuring and then continue on.

    The ftp test can fail for loads of reasons, services file, Group Policy, ACL’s on inetpub, the rapport account not having interactive login rights. People who don’t have the skills to trouble shoot as well as you do generally find it hard, because of this they end up putting it on a non domain member clean PC rather than intergating it in the server environment.

    Mate, nice work – posting the install logs was exacly what we needed to see the issue.

    Maybe I will get around to updating the build documents on this site…

    #8656
    Anonymous
    Member
    • Total Post: 162
    • Jacked into The Matrix
    • ★★★★★★

    Sorry it took so long to get back. Well we finally got it working in a production environment. I was unaware that there were 2 pre-installation hot fixes because the Wyse rep that sat next to me while trying to install it had no idea about them either. We are rockin right now and with a little more practice we will be rolling.

    The fix you might ask. No idea. It was a clean install of W2k3 Server with everything fresh, updated, and on VMWare with its own IP. I just kept fiddling with settings in IIS. OH YEAH and the settings that took 7 hours to figure out in the test environment did not work in production. So the production environment took another day. Tried matching settings and everything to no evail. This software sucks to install and it would be nice if someone could help Wyse out on this.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.