Printer Authentication/Connection

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #7656
    Avatarrbreneman
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Hello! I’m demoing a Wyse R10L right now and I have it connecting into a Citrix XenApp 6.5 environment. In my mac.ini file I have configured a SMB printer using authentication from the login screen. See below for code from mac.ini.

    Printer=SMB1 LocalName="Admin Hallway Copier" Host=\printsvr.domain.com Name="Admin Hallway Copier" PrinterID="Xerox WorkCentre 5775 PS" Class="PS" Enabled=yes Username=$UN Password=$PW

    The printer connection works great, I can print fine from various apps, driver settings were all available. It worked great!

    And then, I signed out of the Wyse OS and signed in as a different user, and tried to print something. It printed fine, however when I look at the print server logs the printer is still connected as me and not the current user.

    I imagine the printer connection is being maintained through logins. I need a way for that connection to be destroyed and a new one created for the next person to login.

    If that isn’t possible is there any way to force the Wyse box to reboot to factory every time some signs out? The boot up process only takes 10 seconds so I don’t have a problem doing that if that is the only way to clear that printer connection.

    Thanks for your help!
    Ryan

    #23278
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 9810
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    So it remembers the printer mapping even after a normal reboot?
    What firmware version are you running?

    CG

    #23283
    Avatarrbreneman
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Sorry, I didn’t word that correctly in my initial post. Either a normal reboot or reboot to factory will clear the printer mapping, it’s only after a sign-off that the printer mapping is maintained.

    Firmware version is 7.1_122

    #23286
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 9810
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Although that sounds like a bug, we can work around this.

    Add
    AutoSignoff=yes Reboot=yes
    to your wnos.ini.
    This will reboot the unit after the last connection was closed.

    CG

    #23289
    Avatarrbreneman
    Member
    • Total Post: 5
    • Newbie

    Great, thanks, that will work for now! I’ll go through the Wyse support channels and see if I can get any information on a potential bug fix.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.