New to wyse

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #6348
    WallyL
    Member
    • Total Post: 7
    • Newbie

    So i have this S10, its nice. I can hit my terminal server, print to my reverse printer etc. SO……

    I wanted to deploy 19 more, but need to figure out how to manage them a little better.
    Downloaded WDM 4.8 and am attempting to get auto descover to work.

    On the S10 itself in the event log it shows that its trying to resolve via dns WYSEFTPFBC4TC and i dont know how to change that.

    I also downloaded the configuration editor and am playing with it, but without more understanding of how the wyse boots and functions its kind of MOOT.

    Regards,
    Wally

    #19766
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11409
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Check the Products-WTOS section for a document called “First Steps”.

    CG

    #19780
    WallyL
    Member
    • Total Post: 7
    • Newbie

    This is a good document, but I manged to get well beyond this on my own.

    I did read it this AM, and it helped me get some additional stuff going.

    We dont use DHCP in my enviroment which might be part of my issue.

    It also may or may not help me with my issue. I have started to work on it this AM.

    #19781
    WallyL
    Member
    • Total Post: 7
    • Newbie

    So i now have it connected to the wyse device manager.

    Still cant get it to pickup the new ini file…..

    #19783
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11409
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Then you are using for sure the wrong folder structure or FTP user credentials.

    Where do you store your wnos.ini file?
    What did you enter in the fileserver field on the client?

    CG

    #19785
    WallyL
    Member
    • Total Post: 7
    • Newbie

    I am in agreement for sure.

    C:InetpubftprootWysewnoswnos.ini
    Directory structure as follows:
    ftprootBitmap
    ftprootcacerts
    ftprootini
    wnos.ini

    FTP LOG MSFTPSVC1:
    #Software: Microsoft Internet Information Services 6.0
    #Version: 1.0
    #Date: 2011-01-07 15:27:34
    #Fields: date time c-ip sc-status sc-win32-status
    2011-01-07 15:27:34 10.10.10.239 331 0
    2011-01-07 15:27:34 10.10.10.239 230 0
    2011-01-07 15:27:34 10.10.10.239 550 3
    2011-01-07 15:27:40 10.10.10.239 331 0
    2011-01-07 15:27:40 10.10.10.239 230 0
    2011-01-07 15:27:40 10.10.10.239 550 3
    2011-01-07 15:27:40 10.10.10.239 331 0
    2011-01-07 15:27:40 10.10.10.239 230 0
    2011-01-07 15:27:40 10.10.10.239 550 3

    The user logs in ok as seen here, then gets a 550 error which is: 550 Requested action not taken. File unavailable (e.g., file not found, no access).

    Regards,
    Wally

    #19786
    WallyL
    Member
    • Total Post: 7
    • Newbie

    I can also log into the FTP from a command prompt on my workstation and download the file.

    #19804
    WallyL
    Member
    • Total Post: 7
    • Newbie

    So i am unsure what my next step is, anyone?

    #19805
    WallyL
    Member
    • Total Post: 7
    • Newbie

    Ok i fixed it booting and it now gets my wnos.ini file 🙂

    I have it set to privlage=none and want it to display the RDP connection box so the users can choose where to go.

    #19808
    ConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11409
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Good job.

    CG

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.