Getting a local usb printer on a wyse xenith

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #7212
    AvatarMarchTheMonth
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    How do I enable the wyse xenith to recognize a local usb printer?
    We have xen desktop 5.5, pvs 5.6 sp2, and a vmware back-end with only xeniths as the way to connect. I tried looking in the xen desktop HDX policies and enabled just able everything that had to do with printers or usb.

    #21945
    AvatarTommyTrut
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    I just had the same issue and found that USB Printer Devices was excluded in the Session tab under Global configuration Settings (under Home) on the client. After removing the mark in “Exclude Printer Device” my printers where mapped again.
    See page 67 in the admin guide how to configure this in xen.ini if applicable.

    Hope this helps πŸ™‚

    #21947
    AvatarTommyTrut
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    FYI I used the following line in XEN.ini to disable local disks being mapped network drive-style and enable USB device mappings.

    SessionConfig=all mapdisks=no VUSB_DISKS=yes VUSB_AUDIO=yes VUSB_VIDEO=yes VUSB_PRINTER=yes
    #21957
    AvatarMarchTheMonth
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    silly question: I do not have a WDM server set up, how do I configure the XEN.ini?

    #21958
    AvatarTommyTrut
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    You don’t need a WDM server to use xen.ini – just a web or ftp-server and setting DHCP options 161 (ip or FQDN of web/ftp server) and 162 (root path).
    I have set up a web server (actually its the Xendesktop-WI I use) and placed a Wyse folder under wwwroot. xen.ini is placed in the wnos Iwhich is also where you can place the files for automatic software update of the Xenith) folder under the wyse folder and DHCP option 162 is set to “/”.
    There is a good description in the admin-guide on how to set op the options and there is a sample xen.ini file available for download from Wyse’s web site.

    Here is my xen.ini FYI:

    ;************************************************************************
    ;* Sample INI file (rename to xen.ini) *
    ;* (Refer to Admin Guide for additional list of supported INIs) *
    ;* *
    ;************************************************************************

    ;; Wyse Xenith will only replace local engine if an upgrade is available

    autoload=2

    ;; Specify a default domain to show at login page
    ;; (remove ';' to enable)

    Domainlist=HOLSTEBRO

    ;; Specify timezone on client (in case of timezone passthrough)

    TimeZone="GMT + 01:00"
    TimeServer=10.1.0.1

    ;; You can choose to configure the location of XenDesktop server here
    ;; instead of using DHCP Option Tag #181
    ;; (remove ';' to enable)

    ;pnliteserver=10.100.4.200 ReconnectAtLogon=1

    Language=Dk

    AutoSignoff=yes Shutdown=yes
    Shutdowncounter=0

    Resolution=1680X1050,1280x1024,1024x768 Refresh=60,75
    Desktop=HK1280.jpg Layout=Center

    PasswordServer=152ctxpwm01.holstebro.dk AccountSelfService=yes

    SessionConfig=all mapdisks=no WyseVDA=yes VUSB_DISKS=yes VUSB_AUDIO=yes VUSB_VIDEO=yes VUSB_PRINTER=yes DefaultColor=2

    AddCertificate=HolstebroRootCA.crt
    #21997
    AvatarMarchTheMonth
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    Tommy,
    Thanks for you help. So here’s what I have done so far:
    -In the IIS admin of our server that is the web front for xendesktop, it now has the .ini and . MIME types per the WYSE instructions.
    -I created a xen.ini that i can get to if i go to http://amr-xenweb/wyse/wnos/xen.ini
    -The following link has what I’ve set up on the DHCP server for the options. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6560548/dhcp.PNG
    As far as I can tell, the Xenith is not getting the xen.ini at all. The code below is the xen.ini I created. Let me know what else I need to do/where I screwed up.

    ; AMRESCO Xen.ini     Created by: March McLaughlin

    autoload=0

    Locale=English
    SignOn=No
    DomainList="amresco-inc.com"

    IEEE8021X=yes network=wireless access=WPA2-PSK wpa2pskpwdEnc=PCGGLBCHMOAOJOGIIMEKNMENNKBKMMDK
    Device=Wireless Mode=Infrastructure SSID=amresco Algorithm=SharedKey

    SessionConfig=all mapdisks=no WyseVDA=yes VUSB_DISKS=yes VUSB_AUDIO=yes VUSB_VIDEO=yes VUSB_PRINTER=yes DefaultColor=2

    @TommyTrut wrote:

    You don’t need a WDM server to use xen.ini – just a web or ftp-server and setting DHCP options 161 (ip or FQDN of web/ftp server) and 162 (root path).
    I have set up a web server (actually its the Xendesktop-WI I use) and placed a Wyse folder under wwwroot. xen.ini is placed in the wnos Iwhich is also where you can place the files for automatic software update of the Xenith) folder under the wyse folder and DHCP option 162 is set to “/”.
    There is a good description in the admin-guide on how to set op the options and there is a sample xen.ini file available for download from Wyse’s web site.

    #21998
    AvatarTommyTrut
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    your starting path needs to be / only. (The client will look for wyse/wnos/xen.ini relative to the root path).

    #21999
    AvatarTommyTrut
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    Just to clarify – it was DHCP option 162 I was talking about above. πŸ™‚

    #22000
    AvatarMarchTheMonth
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    worked great. Thanks very much for your help Tommy, and especially your speedy response.

    #22001
    AvatarTommyTrut
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    Glad to help πŸ™‚

    #22005
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11209
    • Jedi Master
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

    BTW, to easily create teh xen.ini you can use the ConfGen from this site.

    CG

    #22010
    AvatarMarchTheMonth
    Member
    • Total Post: 12
    • Regular Joe
    • β˜…β˜…

    @ConfGen wrote:

    BTW, to easily create teh xen.ini you can use the ConfGen from this site.

    CG

    I did use the ConfGen that was posted, and indeed it was easy to make the Xen.ini. Thank CG.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.