Extend C: partition !!!!!!!!!

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1587
    Avatarpeter1969
    Member
    • Total Post: 42
    • Frequent Flyer
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…

    Hi,

    I don’t know what I have done wrong……………….but I MUST find a solution:

    I have V90 XPE with Media Size 1024 MB – but when I have pushed my image the C: Partition is only 485 MB πŸ˜₯ and there are no extra harddisk drives !! How do I extend my C: drive to use 1024MB ? Symantec Partition Magic 8.0 bootdisks don’t work πŸ˜₯

    Do I have to create a new image ? (I hope not)

    #14393
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11002
    • Jedi Master
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

    Let me guess: You have created your image and used WDM to pull it. Now you push it back to other units and do not have the full size?
    What was the flash size of the original master unit?
    How big is your image file?

    CG

    #14396
    Avatarpeter1969
    Member
    • Total Post: 42
    • Frequent Flyer
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…

    “Let me guess: You have created your image and used WDM to pull it. Now you push it back to other units and do not have the full size?” – You are correct πŸ˜₯

    “What was the flash size of the original master unit?” – 512MB πŸ˜₯

    “How big is your image file?” – 497MB πŸ˜₯

    How do I extend the C: partition?

    #14397
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11002
    • Jedi Master
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

    If standard tools like Partition Magic etc are not working you can use a tool called Diskpart. This was originally part of all SP1 images.
    So, get your hands on a SP1 image, extract this tool, copy it to your unit and run it extend the partition.

    CG

    #14400
    Avatarpeter1969
    Member
    • Total Post: 42
    • Frequent Flyer
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…

    Sorry, but you can’t use diskpart on a running (active) partition, so that’s not possible πŸ˜₯

    #14402
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11002
    • Jedi Master
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

    You can. This is what Wyse is doing with each new install. Diskpart is executed directly after an imaging process after the first logon.

    CG

    #14403
    Avatarpeter1969
    Member
    • Total Post: 42
    • Frequent Flyer
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…

    When I use Diskpart on the XPE I get an error: πŸ˜₯


    DISKPART> list disk

    Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt





    — —
    Disk 0 Online 976 MB 489 MB

    DISKPART> select disk 0

    Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> list partition

    Partition ### Type Size Offset





    Partition 1 Unknown 1024 KB 16 KB
    Partition 2 Primary 485 MB 1040 KB

    DISKPART> select partition 2

    Partition 2 is now the selected partition.

    DISKPART> list volume

    Volume ### Ltr Label Fs Type Size Status Info








    * Volume 0 C XPe NTFS Partition 485 MB Healthy System

    DISKPART> extend

    DiskPart failed to extend the volume.
    Please make sure the volume is valid for extending.

    DISKPART>



    πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯

    #14412
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11002
    • Jedi Master
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

    Try

    select disk 0
    select partition 2
    extend size = 966
    create partition primary

    #14419
    Avatarpeter1969
    Member
    • Total Post: 42
    • Frequent Flyer
    • β˜…β˜…β˜…

    Same result πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:Documents and SettingsAdministrator>diskpart

    Microsoft DiskPart version 5.1.3565

    Copyright (C) 1999-2003 Microsoft Corporation.
    On computer: RESERVE07

    DISKPART> select disk 0

    Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> select partition 2

    Partition 2 is now the selected partition.

    DISKPART> extend size = 966

    DiskPart failed to extend the volume.
    Please make sure the volume is valid for extending.

    DISKPART>


    #14516
    Avatarmoltione
    Member
    • Total Post: 8
    • Newbie
    • β˜…

    Puppy linux (runs from a USB stick) has an app called GPart.

    This should let you play around with the partition size.

    Its also has GUI πŸ™‚

    #18787
    Avataradd1314
    Member
    • Total Post: 1
    • Newbie
    • β˜…

    Maybe Extend Partition Assistant Professional Edition can realize the operation about extend partition.
    I know this question has discussed for a long time and my friend tell me this is the best choice.
    So, hope you have a try. Perhaps it can help you carry out it.
    Good luck! πŸ˜€

    #22735
    Avatarmikenice
    Member
    • Total Post: 2
    • Newbie
    • β˜…

    I was able to correct the problem by using the Wyse USB Firmware Tool. I loaded the operating that I downloaded from Wyse using the RSP file to the USB tool and tool loads the image in the unit. Their is a batch file that runs and detects the flash size and expands according to the flash size after the image transferres from USB to to Flash. You can experiment with PUSH and PULL options for the tool. Please read the manual and all will work well

    https://appservices.wyse.com/pages/serviceandsupport/support/dlOraFW.asp?which=102&model=USB%20Firmware%20Tool(Wyse Imaging Tool)

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.