Any way to recover from a bricked S10 WTOS 7 upgrade?

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #6778
    AvatarKenC
    Member
    • Total Post: 43
    • Frequent Flyer
    • ★★★

    The very first S10 I attempted to upgrade to WTOS 7 bricked. The second worked OK.

    When the unit powers up, it immediately goes to a black screen with a small underline type cursor blinking in the upper left corner.

    Is there any way to recover from this? Will Wyse replace the S10 (which is long out of warrantee)?

    #20863
    ConfGenConfGen
    Keymaster
    • Total Post: 11217
    • Jedi Master
    • ★★★★★★★

    Sure, Wyse will replace this but not free of charge.
    You can contact Wyse support and ask for a WTOS image that you can use to image the S10 via WSI (Wyse Simple Image – available here) and reflash it.
    Should work and is free of charge.

    CG

    #20915
    AvatarKenC
    Member
    • Total Post: 43
    • Frequent Flyer
    • ★★★

    I am having no luck with Simple Imager. I have set it up per the included installation document, and I have followed the operation manual, but the S10 units I’ve tried (I’ve tried 1 bricked one and two operational units) don’t get imaged.

    Furthermore, I don’t understand how the process is supposed to work – given what I see on the network. I have built a stand-alone environment consisting of a server 2003 SP2 computer, hub, and the S10 to be imaged. I have DHCP and IIS running on the server per the WSI installation guide. I have no tags defined in DHCP (again, per the install guide).

    When I run a network trace while powering on the bricked S10, it does absolutely nothing on the network. It does not even do a DHCP discover.

    When I connect a functioning S10 and run a network capture on the server using Wireshark, I see the S10 do the DHCP dance with the server and get an IP address, then I see the S10 open an anonymous FTP connection to the server (which succeeds) and I see it try to get wnos/wnos.ini which of course fails. It then does another anonymous logon and attempts to get wnos/RCA_wnos which also fails. It then does another logon and tries to get wnos/xpress.rom which fails.

    It then does nothing.

    I notice that installing the WSI installed two services:
    WDM DHCP Proxy (RptDHCPSvc.exe)
    WDM TFP Service (RptTFTPSvc.exe)

    I can run a netstat –abn and see where those two services are listening on a variety of ports, but the S10 never attempts to open a connection on any of those ports.

    #20917
    Avatartarasov
    Member
    • Total Post: 138
    • Legend in Own LunchBox
    • ★★★★★

    Have you set the bricked S10 to boot from PXE? Try setting BIOS to defaults and check PXE is the first boot device. If DHCP is Ok and WSI is working you should see (press tab to get rid of Wyse logo screen) PXE discovery and boot process. All things that you saw on the healthy device do not appear if there’s no good ThinOS on the device.

    #20923
    AvatarKenC
    Member
    • Total Post: 43
    • Frequent Flyer
    • ★★★

    Thanks Tarasov! I think you are getting me closer to my goal. I was able to get into the BIOS and set the boot order to PXE first, and lots of magic started happening.

    Unfortunately, it still isn’t working. The WSI log shows that the image is not compatible with the device.

    I guess I’ll have to go back to Wyse to double check that the image they sent is correct.

    On a side note, does it matter what I put in for the “Version” “size” and “Description” fields in WSI when I install an image?

    Another side note, is it possible to UPLOAD an image from a working S10?

    #20924
    AvatarKenC
    Member
    • Total Post: 43
    • Frequent Flyer
    • ★★★

    Wyse sent me the correct image, and viola! My bricked unit is back online, and, as a bonus, I was able to revert a stressful WTOS 7 upgrade on another unit.

    The USB boot option in the BIOS looks intriguing – anyone know how to load an image from a USB memory stick?

    #20930
    Avatartarasov
    Member
    • Total Post: 138
    • Legend in Own LunchBox
    • ★★★★★

    USB Firmware tool can’t write image to NAND of the recent S10s. But can to the ones which have flash – p/n 902105-XX as far as I can remember

    #20932
    AvatarKenC
    Member
    • Total Post: 43
    • Frequent Flyer
    • ★★★

    To recap what worked for me in case someone stumbles up this thread in the future:

    To “repair” a bricked S10, here’s what I did:

    1. Set up a Server 2003 system with DHCP, IIS, and FTP on a stand-alone network. Do not create any special tags in DHCP.

    2. Install the Wyse Simple Imager (WSI) from this site. The WSI install document has an inconsistency. It tells you to create some some folders under the root of your FTP folder. It says one thing, but the example shows something different. Use the example (the correct folders have “rapport” in the path). WSI installs a DHCP “wedge” that intercepts the DHCP traffic and adds its own information returned to the S10. It also installs a TFTP service. You do not need to configure any of this.

    3. Add the Wyse supplied image in WSI. WSI will create a bunch of files under your FTP folder.

    4. Connect dead S10 the the stand-alone network. Hit DEL immediately upon powering on. Enter the BIOS (password is Fireport – note the capital F) and set PXE as the first boot option. Save and reboot the S10

    5. The S10 will then upload and download a bunch files (you can see this on the screen), and finally will load the image and reboot. NOTE: You do not have to reset the boot order in the BIOS. Loading the image automatically sets the order back to IDE first.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.